[Italian mirror] in italiano
[Portuguese mirror] em portugues
[French mirror] en français
[German mirror] auf deutsch
[Klingon mirror] tlhIngan Hol


Rules, Strategies
and Variants

Software Download

The Klin Zha

and the Webmaster

The Authorized Klin Zha Homepage
Rules Questions and Answers

These questions and answers are derived from several conversations I've had with Korath. I really wish I had a tape recorder going because at times he expanded well beyond simply answering my rules questions and gave insights into the history, philosophy and development of Klin Zha. Perhaps in the future I will be able to convince him to do some writing on the subject. If so, those commentaries will be presented.


Are the half spaces along the edge of the point available for placement by one side and then the other or are they a sort of no-man's land? I ask because I always assumed that they were not but, in playing against members of the Klin Zha Society, I was told that they were.
No, the half spaces are not available for placement. It is a matter of territory. This is our territory, that is our enemy's territory. A klingon would advance and take. Having them mixed up together just isn't Klingon.
That having been said, a variant rule could allow such a thing. It would significantly speed up a game and would be used in a situation when the opponents were gambling on the outcome. Using a setup in this way would also give a tremendous advantage to the first placement player.
The Klin Zha Society balanced this by having the first placement player place his Goal at the same time as his other pieces.

Can Blockader zones of control overlap?
No. The force fields would be pushing against one another and that just doesn't work.

What about when the Blockader is moving? If it is moving two spaces I assume that, the location of the zone-of-control when the piece has moved one space is irrelevant. Otherwise, the Blockader would have itself locked up by any opposing piece.
The Blockader has control of his own force field. In moving, the force field can be turned off and then turned back on when it reaches its destination. The force field cannot push opposing piece out of their spaces, though. And, of course, the blockader couldn't move through an opposing Blockader's zone-of-control.

I know that I can't have my Goal within the protection of the Blockader, but can I move it through the zone of control.
The importance of the goal, the klin, is where it is when it is being risked. Where it rests when the opposing player has a chance to attack. How it got there is irrelevant. Thus, you can move your goal through the Blockader's zone-of-control but it cannot come to rest within the zone.

How about moving the Goal in passing. For example: a Fencer is next to the Goal at the beginning of his turn. Can he move one, pick up the Goal, move another, set it down, and then move a third space?
Nothing of the sort occurred in "The Final Reflection." The Goal began or ended its movement in the possesion of one of the pieces. And it seems somewhat un-Klingon to move the goal this way. Either leave it behind to entice your opponent to attack it, and thus become entrapped, or take it with you into battle to flaunt your confidence. The piece moving the Goal must begin and end its movement with the Goal.

I know this would be an amazingly rare occurrence (and more likely to occur when using the Klin Zha Society forward placement rules) but what if the first placement player sets up in such a way that when the second placement player sets up his pieces, the first player doesn't have any carrier pieces that aren't threatened? How could he place his goal?
That would be very rare indeed. In that case, the second placement player would turn his back, distract himself with his servitors, his consort or a tankard of blood wine. The first placement player would then be allowed to move one of his pieces, the least offensive, and place his goal with that carrier piece. He would then say HIja', alerting in distracted opponent that he is waiting.
There is no honor in fighting an unarmed opponent and winning a game before its even begun similarly has no honor. This method has honor for both players; the first placement player is allowed an opportunity to defend himself (considering he set up foolishly) and his opponent has the honor of actually fighting him instead of just declaring victory before the battle has begun.
Using the Klin Zha Society rules, in having the first placement player also place his Goal, runs the risk that, when the second placement player places his pieces he could immediately place the first player's Goal under threat. He might even place in such a way that the goal could not move out of threat. This would end the game before it even begins. I don't know whether they end the game there or have some rule to deal with that, such as turning ones back.

Another Blockader question: A piece has moved away, leaving my opponent's goal undefended. Can my Blockader move in and capture the goal?
There's no reason why not. The Goal is a symbol, not a piece, and is open to capture by even the Blockader. Of course, that's only if the Goal is undefended. If a piece is there, the Blockader would be itself blocked.

[Return to Top]
http://www.tasigh.org/takzh/quest.html -- Revised: 7 July 2002
Rules for the game Klin Zha Copyright © 1989 by Leonard B. Loyd, Jr.
Copyright © 2002 Kevin A. Geiselman